Safety Byte: The National Compliance and Risk Qualification - Iain Evans


Safety Byte: The National Compliance and Risk Qualification - Iain Evans

Posted on 06 January 2020

Safety Byte: The National Compliance and Risk Qualification - Iain Evans

​NCRQ are a new suite of level 6 health and safety qualifications, which differ in many ways from traditional health and safety qualifications.

In this video, Iain offers an insight into the NCRQ qualifications through answering a series of questions including –What qualifications NCRQ offer? What makes NCRQ different from other health and safety qualifications?  How the NCRQ qualifications are assessed? Are NCRQ qualifications accredited by IOSH?

Please tell us about yourself Iain Evans?

I’m the Chief Executive of NCRQ, I’ve been with the organization since it was first founded. Previously worked as a Principal Inspectors in the Health and Safety Executive and then as their Head of legal and enforcement. 

What is NCRQ?

NCRQ offers a suite of 3 health and safety qualifications all of them interestingly are at level six. 
Which is the equivalent level of difficulty as the final year of a degree 

What makes NCRQ different? 

So the approach is very different from traditional qualifications in that the learning style isn’t about a modular style of learning of facts and figures. It's not about here’s a list of concepts that you need to learn and recite.  It's focused on getting people to be undertake their own research, and getting people to be able to take analysis of scenarios at quite some depth and to be able to pull from that 
The ability to identify find deficiencies in the safety management and put in controls to prevent a recurrence.

There is less focus on learning vast volumes of knowledge because in reality safety practitioners very rarely have to recite knowledge from the top of their head in the workplace. What they need to be able to do, is to understand very very clearly the key principles of safety management and those core concepts and be able to apply them in detail and then as and when needed to undertake they’re own research on specific technical points and be able to apply them to real-world scenarios.

How are NCRQ qualifications assessed?

The assessment differs from traditional qualifications in that there are no exams. So in order to actually test the skill and competencies that are required in the real world. NCRQ uses assignment based assessment so students when they are ready, can request an assignment which consists of a scenario and a series of documents to back that up.

Are NCRQ qualifications accredited by IOSH?

All the qualifications are accredited by IOSH.  The level 6 certificate in applied Health and safety makes people eligible for technical membership of IOSH. And the level 6 diploma allows people to be eligible for graduate and eventually chartered membership of IOSH.

What does the future hold for NCRQ? 

We will be looking at developing some more qualifications in the future. But rather than churning out numbers of qualifications in lots of different areas we want to keep our core focus, which is doing this key central suite of qualifications and continuously revising them to make sure they are always at the market leading qualifications out there.

Share this article